Umpires - Tom Seddon Umpire of the Year Award

Tom Seddon passed away peacefully surrounded by his loving family at Loyola University Medical Center on January 7, 2014. Tom courageously fought leukemia for 13 years and passed away due to complications from a bone marrow transplant. Tom loved umpiring softball and was an inspiration to all that knew him which included the players of all skill levels and those umpires that had the privilege to work with him. Tommy was inducted into the IL USSSA Hall of Fame in the Umpire Category in 2009. In remembrance to Tom the Umpire of the Year Award has been changed to the Tom Seddon Umpire of the Year Award beginning in 2014. Tom received this award posthumously at the 2014 Tom Seddon Memorial Scholarship Golf Outing held in Joliet this past August. Tom’s wife, Janet and daughters Amanda and Christie accepted the award in Tom’s memory. As Tommy always said, “ya’ just gotta have fun”!

Illinois Umpire in Chief Awards

Year Name Location
2014  Lee Eggers - National Official of the Year in Slow Pitch, Rockford
2013  Dale Rager, Romeoville
2013  John Desmond, Machesney Park
2013 Jon Bradshaw, Aurora
2012 Lee Eggers - National Umpire of the Year
2009 Doug Livingston, Loves Park
2009 John Ithal, Plano
2009 Stan Craven, Plainfield
2008 Lee Eggers, Rockford 
2007 Mike McConville, Rockford
2007 Jeff Myles, Dekalb
2007 Steve Raasch, Plainfield
2006 Mike Crozier, Pecatonica
2006 Alsie Kirkland, Joliet
2006 Fred Gestel, Minooka
2006 Brett Wing, Aurora
2005 Oreadis Craig, Rockford
2005 Mike Mackey, Joliet
2005 Adrian Foster, Joliet
2005 Duane Rosheisen, Aurora
2004 Mike Leon, Aurora
2003 Jerry Wason, Joliet
2002 Wally Anderson, Rockford
2001 Mark Wennmacher, Rockford
2001 Tim Sewing, Joliet
2000 Pierre Dube, Godley
2000 Jody Goetting, Steeleville
2000 Rod Fultz, Aurora
2000 Larry Swinyer, Urbana
1999 Robert Downen, Caseyville
1998 Steve Franck, Rockford
1998 Dave Reiter, Rockford
1998 Richard Garcia, Champaign
1998 Clay Simonson, Rockford
1997 Jim Davis, Urbana
1997 Tommy Unzicker, Rockford
1997 Jess Fudge Sr., Rockford
1997 Jim Zembruski, Minooka
1996 Kevin Bethard, Joliet
1996 Steve McGriff, Caledonia
1996 Norman Faulkner, Centralia
1996 Roy Sadler, Urbana
1995 Kevin Callaghan, Batavia
1995 Andre Martel, Red Bud
1995 Bill Harmon, Urbana
1995 Chuck Smith, Peotone
1994 Lee Broach, Loves Park
1994 Butch Stallings, Bartonville
1994 Tom Seddon, Crest Hill
1994 Billy Ward, East St. Louis
1993 Don Dickinson, Joliet
1993 Amos Kent, Pecatonica
1993 Jim Joyes, Rockford
1993 Mike Seng, Yorkville
1992 Tom Johnson, Joliet
1992 Maynard Keller, Machesney Park
1992 John Sturgill, Sandwich
1991 Ray Davis, Rockford
1991 Marc Musser, Joliet
1990 Joe Haas, Evansville
1990 Jerry Henry, Joliet
1990 Irv Porter, Aurora
1989 Wes Ladwig, South Beloit
1989 Joe Latin, Rockford
1988 Paul Brown, Machesney Park
1988 Steve Manning, Evansville
1988 Chico Rotello, Rockford
1988 Pat Jurgensmeier, Rockford
1988 Robert Preece, Red Bud
1988 Charles Triplett, Rockford
1987 Jim Irvin, Rockford
1987 L.N. (Milt) Norse, Rockford
1987 Bob Parvin, Rockford