Slow Pitch Softball

Slow Pitch - USSSA Awards

Each year the Illinois USSSA honors individuals within the state for their excellent efforts to better the USSSA through their respective roles. Click on any of the links below to view honors awarded by the Illinois USSSA.


State Director's Award League Director Award
Distinguished Service Award
Award of Merit
Award of Excellence
Rookie of the Year Award



Congratulations to the 2010 Director's Award winners, pictured from
left to right, Tim Fetters, Rookie of the Year from Machesney Park;
Mike Peura, Award of Excellence from Yorkville; Ken Adams, Distinguished Service
Award from Chicago and Melissa Caine, State Director Award from the St Charles
Park District. Not pictured: Kristin DeBoer, League Director of the Year from the Joliet Park
District and Tim Johnson, Award of Merit from Joliet.


The National USSSA also honors individuals for their accomplishments.  Below is a listing of awards received by Illinois players, umpires, and directors presented by the National USSSA:

2012 - National Slow Pitch Umpire of the Year: Lee Eggers, Rockford

2009 - Award of Merit: Ken Franzen, Rockford
2004 - USSSA National Hall of Fame - Special Category: Brenda Paulson
1999 - Dwight Hall Spark Plug of the Year - Northern Region: Jeff Lower
1999 - Complex of the Year: Forest Hills Diamonds
1996 - Dwight Hall Spark Plug of the Year - Northern Region: Irv Porter, Aurora
1995 - National Rookie of the Year: Frank Fiarito, Arlington Heights
1993 - USSSA National Hall of Fame: Laura Fillipp, Lake Zurich (player)
1992 - National Umpire-in-Chief Award: Ken Franzen, Rockford
1987 - DeBeer/Richard Pollack Woman of the Year: Brenda Paulson (non-player)
1987 - President's Award: Brenda Paulson
1985 - DeBeer/Richard Pollack Woman of the Year: Helen Biddle, Elburn (non-player)

No Hit Games

The following players have achieved the rare accomplishment of pitching a no hit game in USSSA sanctioned league or tournament play.

Female Players

Nancy Fitzpatrick of Georgi Girls at Rockford on September 5, 1981
Cathy Weadley of McCormick's Inn at Lake Forest on July 2, 1983
Vicky Brown of Prairie Moon at Rochelle on June 2, 1984
Karen Williams Joyce of King Potter at Rockord April 26, 1990

Male Players

Dan Ausec of Graphic Papers at Joliet on July 23, 1983
Bob Sandman of Salecar at Downers Grove on August 4, 1985
Dave Reiter of Sand Trap Rattlers at Rockford on June 22, 1996
Hal Dewese of Illinois Central Auto Body/Hitmen on June 2, 1997